Happy birthday Punks!

My little blog is a year old today. In my first half month last May, I got 229 clicks, a number I easily passed my first day this month. My very first post was a take on Wilco’s then just-leaked album.

So here’s my take on 2010: We’re only a few months into this year but there are a number of strong albums already. While it’s a little early to declare best-of lists, my two favorite albums so far this year are Massive Attack’s Heligoland and Besnard Lakes’ The Besnard Lakes Are the Roaring Night.

The list of my other top albums is pretty lengthy. I like releases by the National, the Hold Steady, Beach House, Titus Andronicus, Surfer Blood, Los Campesinos!, the Soft Pack, Golden Triangle, Liars, Caribou, Shearwater, Drive-By Truckers, Yeasayer and Charlotte Gainsbourg. I’m sure I’m forgetting at least a couple of others.

Albatross – The Besnard Lakes

And This Is What We Call Progress – The Besnard Lakes

Girl I Love You (She is Danger Remix) – Massive Attack

A More Perfect Union – Titus Andronicus

Romance is Boring – Los Campesinos!

Neon Noose – Golden Triangle

C’mon – The Soft Pack

Leave a Reply

