Pitchfork: Zola Jesus, Deerhunter, Odd Future

Fleet Foxes and TV on the Rado headline Pitchfork Saturday and Sunday but I’m far more excited about seeing at least a dozen other bands.

I’d be happy to see Zola Jesus Saturday night and then head to the bus stop before the rest of the masses. Likewise on Sunday: Deerhunter is a must-see and it would be great to catch Cut Copy but I’m just not that jazzed about TV on the Radio.

As I said before, the early bands are worth seeing both days. I definitely want to see Woods at 1:45 p.m. Saturday. The other sure things that day: No Age, Wild Nothing, geriatric punkers Off!, the Radio Dept. and Twin Shadow. DJ Shadow also is worth checking out.

On Sunday, Yuck (another 1:45 p.m. show) is essential. Odd Future’s appearance is stirring a lot of interest and angst. Expect that show to be packed (also expect to see some middle-aged white dudes with their hands in the air).

The rest of my Sunday list includes: Kurt Vile, Twin Sister, Shabazz Palaces, Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti, Baths and Superchunk. I’ll likely check out Toro Y Moi but I doubt he’s going to kill it live.

Night – Zola Jesus

Get Away – Yuck

In My Time – Kurt Vile

Leave a Reply

